The Town of Hammond was officially established on March 30,1827, formed from the towns of Morristown and Rossie. It’s name was taken from a New York City merchant, Abjijah Hammond, who owned the land prior to 1814. Reportedly, he never even saw this great tract of land nestled between the scenic St. Lawrence River and beautiful Black Lake, stretching into the woodsy foothills of Rossie.
The first known settler was William McNeil, who came from Vermont before 1812. He was a happy hermit with a home in the rocks of Chippewa Bay. In 1818 several Scottish immigrants began coming, some of whom were responsible for building many of the charming stone houses throughout the town.